Fly tying: Getting ready while conditions are off

With recent flooding conditions due to rain and snowmelt, I’m anticipating a fresh run of steelhead.  Unfortunately, conditions are still too off for my liking, which presents a good opportunity to tie some flies.

Skagit Mist tied on a 1.5 Alec Jackson.

Skagit Mist tied on a 1.5 Alec Jackson.

I have really taken to this fly pattern and its cousin, the Akroyd.  I look forward to casting these in the water and see what happens.

About Justin Rosander

I am a multi-instrumentalist and songwriter. I enjoy playing mainly guitar, uilleann bagpipes, and keyboard. I am a student of the works of J.R.R. Tolkien and a Stephen R. Lawhead fan. My wife and I are gamers, and enjoy playing Lord of the Rings Online. When I am not spending time with my loving wife and wonderful son, I am on the river fly fishing, my favorite sport. I especially enjoy fly fishing for steelhead, the fish of a thousand casts.
This entry was posted in Flies, Fly tying and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

